Three Tigers Named All-Conference, Johnson Earns Team MVP 02 Apr 18

Brett Miller, KMRS/KKOK Sports Director

MORRIS – The Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta Tigers held their Awards Banquet on Monday night at the Morris Elementary Cafeteria, and junior forward Jaret Johnson was voted team Most Valuable Player.

Senior Tate Nelson was named Defensive Player of the Year, eighth-grader Jackson Loge earned Most Improved Player, and the Tiger Award for hustle and team commitment went to junior Kyle Staebler.

It was also announced that Johnson, Nelson, and junior Camden Arndt were named All-Conference selections by the West Central Conference.

Johnson led the Tigers with 16.0 points per game while pulling down 6.0 rebounds. Nelson led with 2.1 steals per game, scoring 8.0 points with 3.7 rebounds, and 2.6 assists. Arndt was second with 11.6 points per game, 5.0 rebounds, and 2.9 assists.

The West Central Conference MVP award went to Melrose junior forward Reegan Nelson. 


Jaret Johnson, Jr. Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta
Camden Arndt, Jr. Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta
Tate Nelson, Sr. Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta
Jackson Johnsrud, Sr. Minnewaska Area
Matt Gruber, Sr. Minnewaska Area
Garrett Jensen, Sr. Minnewaska Area
Reegan Nelson, Jr. Melrose
Traeton Keaveny, Sr. Melrose
Preston Keaveny, Jr. Melrose
Damon Van Beck, Sr. Melrose
Cade Neubert, Sr. Sauk Centre
Casey Schirmers, So. Sauk Centre
Gavin Vosika, So. BOLD
Jordan Sagedahl, Jr. BOLD
Jarren Kaddatz, Sr. Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City
Dawson Miller, So. Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City
Isaac Hoogeveen, Sr. Montevideo
Jackson Snell, Jr. Montevideo

Honorable Mentions

Ryan Christianson, Sr. Minnewaska Area
Sam Lundebrek, Sr. Benson
Will Enderson, So. Benson
Carter Henrys, Jr. BOLD
Kobe Holtz, Sr. Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City
Nic Olberding, Sr. Melrose
Jacob Jennisen, So. Sauk Centre
Cole Sandven, So. Montevideo