Kannegiesser Repeats As Conference MVP, Bedel Named Coach Of The Year 19 Mar 18

Brett Miller, KMRS/KKOK Sports Director

MORRIS – Hancock Owls senior guard Noah Kannegiesser has been named the Pheasant Conference Most Valuable Player, while Owls Head Coach Cory Bedel was named Coach of the Year. 

It’s the second straight conference MVP for Kannegiesser, who became Hancock’s all-time leading scorer this past season, was named a top 20 finalist for the Minnesota Mr. Basketball Award, and led the state with a 36.1 points per game average.

He also averaged 4.7 rebounds, 4.3 assists, and 3.1 steals while shooting 59 percent from the floor, including 46 percent from three-point range. 

Bedel coached the Owls to their first conference title in 15 years, going 12-0 in conference play and 25-3 overall, finishing as the section 6A runner-up.

Joining Kannegiesser as All-Conference selections are Owls junior teammates Bennett Nienhause and Cole Reese. Junior Connor Reese was named an honorable mention.

Other area athletes named to the all-conference team include from West Central Area seniors Logan Paulson, Dawson Staples, and Brady Sabolik. Three Ortonville juniors; Tyson Powell, DaVonte Edwards, and Caden Wellnitz. Hillcrest juniors Sander Frustol and Gabe Preston, Brandon-Evansville senior Taylor Bitzan, Clinton-Graceville-Beardsley senior Bryce Hoffmann, and Wheaton/Herman-Norcross sophomore Matt Thielen. 

Joining Reese as honorable mentions were Ross Anderson (WCA), Peter Treinen (Ort), Darrin Wibstad (B-E), James Strese (B-E), Keagan Schiele (B-E), and Hunter Johnson (WHN).