Schmidt Named Pheasant Conference MVP, Rinke Coach Of The Year 14 Mar 18

Brett Miller, KMRS/KKOK Sports Director

MORRIS – Wheaton/Herman-Norcross senior guard Emma Schmidt has been named the Pheasant Conference Most Valuable Player for the second consecutive year. 

Schmidt averaged 19.0 points per game, 7.5 rebounds, 4.8 assists and 5.0 steals. 

Warriors first year Head Coach Darin Rinke was named Coach of the Year, after the Warriors won the Pheasant Conference title with a 12-0 record, and the top overall seed in section 6A-South. 

Schmidt along with senior teammates Anna Rinke and Briona Edwards were named All-Conference First Team seclections. 

Other area athletes named All-Conference include Hancock Owls seniors Tess Steiner and Ashlyn Mattson. West Central Area had three selections including junior Ella Van Kempen, senior Brianna Kreft, and eighth-grader Lexi Bright. 

Clinton-Graceville-Beardsley senior Callie Vold and junior Emma Botker, Brandon-Evansville junior Sara Jacobsen, Ortonville’s Jaiden Conroy, Madysen Stegner, and Hillcrest Lutheran’s Olivia Foss were also selected. 

Honorable mentions include; Haley Johnson, Isabelle Schmidt (WHN), Mataiah Turner (CGB), Lexi Staples (Hancock), Tyler Peters (Ortonville). 


Ella Van Kempen Forward, Jr. West Central Area
Lexi Bright Guard, 8th West Central Area
Ashlyn Mattson Guard, Sr. Hancock
Tess Steiner Forward, Sr. Hancock
Jaiden Conroy Guard, Jr. Ortonville
Madysen Stegner Forward, Sr. Ortonville
Callie Vold Guard, Sr. Clinton-Graceville-Beardsley
Emma Botker Forward, Jr. Clinton-Graceville-Beardsley
Sara Jacobson Guard, Jr. Brandon-Evansville
Olivia Foss Guard, Jr. Hillcrest Lutheran Academy


Honorable Mentions

Haley Johnson Guard, Jr. Wheaton/Herman-Norcross
Isabelle Schmidt Forward, 9th Wheaton/Herman-Norcross
Lexi Staples Guard, 9th Hancock
Matiah Turner Guard, So. Clinton-Graceville-Beardsley
Tyler Peters Guard, Sr. Ortonville


Final Standings

Team Record  
Wheaton/Herman-Norcross 12-0 23-5
West Central Area 9-3 19-8
Hancock 7-5 13-11
Ortonville 6-6 11-15
Clinton-Graceville-Beardsley 5-7 12-13
Brandon-Evansville 3-9 12-15
Hillcrest Lutheran Academy 0-12 2-22