Shipley Named Cougars MVP, Holleman Receives Verne Chandler Award 05 Dec 17

Brett Miller, KMRS/KKOK Sports Director

MORRIS – The University of Minnesota-Morris held their Cougar football team banquet on Sunday night and handed out some awards, including Team Most Valuable Player going to sophomore linebacker Drew Shipley.

Shipley led the Upper Midwest Athletic Conference with 114 tackles, ranking 14th nationally. He also received the team’s Outstanding Defensive Player award. He also led the Cougars with three interceptions, three forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries. Shipley was named an All-UMAC Second Team member for defense.

With punting duties Shipley earned All-UMAC First Team honors. 

Outstanding Offensive Player went to sophomore quarterback Justin Masloski after he led the team in both passing and rushing with 10 total touchdowns. 


The Steve Chaon Award for Outstanding Skill Position went to senior cornerback Mitch Fischer. Fischer led the team with seven pass breakups and was second with two interceptions. Junior Nathan Gehlen recorded a team-high five sacks and was second with 13 tackles-for-loss to earn the James Heikes Award for Oustanding Lineman. 

All-UMAC First Team kicker John Hoff was named the recipient of the Oustanding Special Teams Player Award after he led the UMAC with seven made field goals and tied for the lead with seven touchbacks. 

Newcomers of the Year went to Nick Pahno for defense and Cameron Geyer on offense. Pahno finished second to Shipley for team tackles with 64, while Geyer was third on the team in rushing and fourth in receiving. 

Finally, the Verne Chandler Award for dedication to UMM football went to senior wideout Taylor Hollemann. Taylor’s season was cut short when he suffered and knee injury but continued to lead this team off the field. 

Before the injury Holleman was among the conference leaders in receptions, finishing with 32 for 257 yards and two touchdowns in eight games. 

  • Gary J Gehlen

    Nathan Gehlen is a Junior