Arndt Named District RB Of The Year, Wevley To All-District Team 09 Nov 17

Brett Miller, KMRS/KKOK Sports Director

MORRIS – Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta junior Camden Arndt has been named the Mid-State (Sub 2) District Running Back of the Year.

Arndt ran for 1,418 yards and 12 touchdowns while leading the Tigers to the section semifinals where they fell to top-seed Pillager. Over ten games, Arndt averaged 7.2 yards per carry, 141.8 per game, and just for good measure caught seven passes for 140 yards and two scores.

Arndt was named to the All-District team along with senior teammate Gage Wevley, who helped pave the way on many of Arndt’s runs, blocking on the offensive line.

Defensively Wevley racked up 15 solo tackles and 36 assisted with five tackles-for-loss, three sacks, a forced fumble and two fumble recoveries, 

Seniors Bain Laine and Alex Daugherty were named District Honorable Mentions. Daugherty led the Tigers with four interceptions and Laine was another key on the offensive line while defensively totaling five tackles-for-loss with 14 assisted and eight solo.

The Tigers finished fifth in the district under fifth-year head coach Kevin Pope with a 3-4 record (4-6 overall). 

BOLD was the district champion going 7-0 in district play with coach Steve Solem being named Coach of the Year. Minnewaska’s Matt Gruber was named the district’s Mr. Football of the Year Award nominee.

District Awards

Coach of the Year Steve Solem BOLD
Mr. Football Candidate Matt Gruber Sr., Minnewaska
QB of the Year Jordan Sagedahl So., BOLD
RB of the Year Camden Arndt Jr., Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta
WR of the Year Gavin Vosika So., BOLD
Off. Lineman of the Year Riley Weis Jr., BOLD
Def. Lineman of the Year Jack Peppel Sr. BOLD
LB of the Year Royal Weber Sr. Sauk Centre
DB of the Year Ryan Christianson Sr., Minnewaska
Specialist of the Year Luke Ryan Jr., BOLD

All-District Team

Camden Arndt RB/LB Jr., Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta
Gage Wevley OL/DL Sr., Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta
Matt Gruber QB/DB Sr., Minnewaska
Ryan Christianson RB/DB Sr., Minnewaska
John Helander OL/DL Jr., Minnewaska
Garrett Jensen RB/DE Sr., Minnewaska
Jaeger Jergenson TE/DE Sr., Minnewaska
Austin Einerson RB/DE Sr., BOLD
Luke Ryan TE/DB Jr., BOLD
Gavin Vosika RB/LB So., BOLD
Jordan Sagedahl QB/DB So., BOLD
Riley Weis OL/DL Jr., BOLD
Jack Peppel TE/DE Sr., BOLD
Jaren Kaddatz WR/S Sr., ACGC
Jeremy Nelson RB/LB Sr., ACGC
Cullen Lewis RB/LB Sr., ACGC
Elliot Gratz OL/DE Sr., ACGC
Josh Kintzler RB/DB So., ACGC
Seth Tschida OL/DL Sr., Sauk Centre
Alex Kowski C/DL Sr., Sauk Centre
Dylan Haskamp RB/LB Sr., Sauk Centre
Hunter Fletcher RB/LB Jr., Sauk Centre
Royal Weber TE/DB Sr., Sauk Centre
Thomas O’ Malley OL/DL Sr., Montevideo
Blaine Sederstrom RB/LB Sr., Montevideo
Jeran Baker OL/DL Sr., Osakis
Aaron Zosel RB/LB Sr., Benson

District Honorable Mention

Bain Laine OL/DL Sr., Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta
Alex Daugherty WR/DB Sr., Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta
Gavin Rupp OL/DL Sr., Minnewaska
Jackson Johnsrud WR/DB Sr., Minnewaska
Jack Blevins RB/LB Jr., Minnewaska
Hayden Tersteeg RB/LB Jr., BOLD
Cade Morse C/LB Jr., BOLD
Sam Marks RB/DB Sr., BOLD
Dawson Vosika OL/DB Jr., BOLD
Grant Youngkrantz OL/DE Sr. ACGC
Carston Toedter OL/DL Sr., ACGC
Michael Trebil QB/S Jr., ACGC
Wilder Kuhlmann OL/DE Jr., Sauk Centre
Devin Thielen OL/DL Sr., Sauk Centre
Casey Schirmers QB/DB So., Sauk Centre
Jackson Snell TE/LB Jr., Montevideo
Trent Dreyer RB/DB Jr., Montevideo
Jarrett Seela RB/LB Jr., Osakis
Luke Imdieke RB/LB So., Osakis
Sam Lundebrek TE/DE Sr., Benson

Final Standings

Team District Overall
BOLD 7-0 10-1
Minnewaska Area 5-2 7-3
Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City 5-2 6-3
Sauk Centre 5-2 5-4
Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta 3-4 4-6
Montevideo 2-5 2-7
Osakis 1-6 2-7
Benson 0-7 0-9