Tigers Sayles & Trio Of Owls Named WCT Honorable Mentions In Baseball 20 Jun 17

Brett Miller, KMRS/KKOK Sports Director

WILLMAR – Morris Area Chokio/Alberta Tigers senior Toby Sayles was named an honorable mention on the West Central Tribune’s All-Area Team announced on June 15th. 

Sayles hit .271 with a .455 On-Base Percentage, collecting 12 RBI’s with 12 runs scored and 16 walks at the plate. Sayles was just 2-5 on the hill, but posted an impressive 2.46 ERA over 37.1 innings. Sayles played three positions for the Tigers, including pitcher, shortstop, and catcher.

Hancock had three players named honorable mentions. Reigning Pheasant Conference pitcher of the year senior Chandler Gramm made the cut, batting .304 while going 5-2 with a 1.90 ERA over 59 innings pitched, recording 81 strikeouts.

Senior catcher Zach Copa hit a team-best .357 with 14 RBI’s and 14 runs scored, while senior shortstop Andrew Shaw led the team with 11 stolen bases, hitting .274 with 17 walks drawn were each named honorable mentions as well. 

Minnewaska’s Colin Richards and Matt Gruber were named to the All-Area Team, while Lakers teammate Shawn Stumpf was an  honorable mention. 

Full List:

WCT All-Area Team
Will Roguske, NL-S, So., C/1B/P
Matt Spaulding, NL-S, Jr., P
Matt Spaulding, NL-S, Jr., P

James Woelfel, BOLD, Jr., C/P
Luke Ryan, BOLD, So., CF

Tanner Stoel, Central MN Christian, Sr., SS

Colin Richards, Minnewaska, Sr., P
Matthew Gruber, Minnewaska, Jr., P/OF

Weston Gjerde, KMS, So., P/SS

Kobe Holtz, ACGC, Jr., P/OF

Honorable Mention
Jaren Kaddatz, ACGC, Jr., C
David Kingery, ACGC, Jr., SS
Payton Kinzler, ACGC, Sr., P/2B

Jack Peppel, BOLD, Jr., 1B
Jordan Sagedahl, BOLD, Fr., C/P/IF
Reed Stadther, BOLD, Sr., P/IF
Hayden Tersteeg, BOLD, So., P/2B

Zach Copa, Hancock, Sr., C
Chandler Gramm, Hancock, Sr., P
Andrew Shaw, Hancock, Sr., SS

Josh Peterson, KMS, Jr., 1B

Zach Carlson, Litchfield, Sr., C
Tyler Sangren, Litchfield, Sr., P/CF
Sam Tibbits, Litchfield, Sr., OF

Evan Benson, LQPV, Jr., C
Cole Bungarden, LQPV, Sr., P

Dalton Struxness, MACCRAY, Sr., P/IF

Shawn Stumpf, Minnewaska, Sr., P

Toby Sayles, MACA, Sr., SS/P/C

Derek Dolezal, NL-S, Jr., 3B/C
Evan Haugen, NL-S, Sr., 3B/P
Josh Soine, NL-S, Sr., CF/P
John Perkins, NL-S, Sr., OF/IF
Wyatt White, NL-S, Sr., SS

Garrett Leusink, Paynesville, Sr., 1B/P

Drey Dirksen, Willmar, So., C
Grant Bangen, Willmar, Sr., P/OF