State Champions Crowned At Target Field On Monday 20 Jun 17

MINNEAPOLIS – Levi Arnold threw a complete game six hitter as Parkers Prairie won its first MSHSL Class A baseball championship ever with a 6-3 decision over Legacy Christian Academy at Target Field.

The Panthers (26-2) jumped to a 6-0 lead after four and a half innings and held on for the win. Travis Yohnke, Casey Peterson and Matt Ferley led a nine hit attack with two apiece. Arnold used just 92 pitches, walking two and striking out a like number to earn the complete game victory.

Yohnke scored the game’s first run, coming home on Hunter McDaniel’s bases loaded walk in the second inning. The sophomore first baseman tripled home a run in the third to make it 2-0. The Panthers added three more in the fourth and a solo tally in the fifth frame.

Arnold escaped trouble in the fourth when he induced a double play to get bout of the inning. In the fifth, Ethan Mocchi’s double was the key blow as LCA cut the lead in half at 6-3. Arnold, however, settled in and retired the last seven batters in a row to secure the win.

It was a happier ending than a year ago when the Panthers lost the Class A title game, 4-2, to Springfield in 11 innings.

Jarvey Hill had two hits for Legacy Christian Academy, which finished the season 21-5.

MINNEAPOLIS – Noah Dehne singled home the winning run and scored an insurance tally as Minnehaha Academy won its second straight MSHSL Class AA baseball championship, 6-4, over Pierz Monday at Target Field.

The Redhawks (26-2) broke a 4-all tie with two seventh inning runs to end the season with a nine-game winning streak.

With one out in the seventh, senior center fielder Simon Huyck hit a ground ball that bounced off the first base bag and then rolled past the right fielder, allowing Huyck to take second, Dehne, a sophomore first baseman, followed with a single to center field (his second hit of the game) to plate Huyck. Dehne then raced home on a double by senior left fielder Alex Evenson.

The Pioneers made it interesting, getting runners to second and third with one out in the bottom of the seventh inning. Bennett Theisen, a sophomore righthander, retired the last two batters to earn the win in relief. Theisen threw three innings, allowing no runs on three hits with seven strikeouts.

The Redhawks started strong, scoring twice in the second and third innings for a 4-0 lead. Pierz (26-3) fought back with a run in the third on four singles. One inning later, Luke Gritz, a sophomore left fielder, drilled a two RBI single to cap a three-run outburst that tied the game at 4.

It remained that way until the seventh when the Redhawks found a way to win their second straight baseball title.

MINNEAPOLIS – Waconia became just the ninth baseball team in MSHSL history to finish a season undefeated with a 6-1 victory over Hibbing in the Class AAA championship game Monday afternoon at Target Field.

Dillon Whittaker, a senior rigthhander, scattered five hits as the Wildcats capped a 26-0 campaign. They are the first Minnesota high school to run the board since St. Cloud Cathedral did so in Class AA in 2015. Whittaker used just 96 pitches, walking none and striking out six batters.

Robbie Smith, a junior second baseman, had three hits (two singles and a double) to pace Waconia’s 10-hit attack. Austin Friedrich, a senior first baseman, added a pair of hits and had two RBI. Alex Logelin, a senior catcher, also had two hits and scored twice.

The Wildcats peppered the Bluejackets (19-9) from the start, scoring twice in the first inning and adding solos in the second and third. Held hitless for three innings, Hibbing broke through in the fourth with a pair of hits, scoring a run on a sacrifice fly by senior left fielder Dylan Mattson. But that was all the Bluejackets, who advanced to the final by eliminating No. 2 St. Cloud Tech and No. 3 Alexandria, could muster. Austin Glad, a senior first baseman, was 2-for-3 for Hibbing,

Waconia added single runs in the fifth and sixth innings to pull away to win its first state baseball championship ever.

It was Hibbing’s first appearance in a state baseball final since 1989.

MINNEAPOLIS – Jack Zigan tossed a complete game three-hitter as Eden Prairie completed an impressive run with a 5-1 victory over Forest Lake in the MSHSL Class AAAA championship baseball game at Target Field Monday. The unseeded Eagles outscored their foes by a margin of 25-2 to win their third state title in baseball.

Head coach John Buteyn was a member of the 2004 team that won the AAA title. EP also won the 2010 AAA title.

Cam Kline was also impressive on the mound in a losing effort. The Forest Lake senior struck out six batters in a row at one point and finished with 12 in six innings of work. He also had two of his team’s three hits and scored the lone run.

Trailing 1-0, the Eagles turned the game around by sending eight batters to the plate in the fourth inning, scoring four times. Ryan Wrobleski, a junior catcher, and senior first baseman Matthew Dolan had two RBI hits in the frame. Two innings later, Connor Young, a senior rightfielder, singled and scored when senior leftfielder Bailey DeMets tripled to right center.

It capped an EP run that saw them eliminate No. 1 seed Wayzata in the quarterfinals, No. 4 seed Lakeville North in the semis and then the third seeded Rangers in the title game.

Zigan took care of the rest. The senior righty allowed only an unearned run with two walks and 11 strikeouts — including the last seven FL outs. Only one Ranger runner advanced as far as second base after the first inning as Eden Prairie finished the season with an 18-9 won-loss record.

Forest Lake, appearing in a baseball championship game for the first time since 1993, finished 20-7.