Gillespie named semifinalist for Teacher of the Year 02 Mar 17

Morris Area High School Special Ed teacher Erin Gillespie is one of 37 educators named yesterday as semifinalists for this years’ Minnesota Teacher of the Year honor.

A selection panel of 23 community leaders chose the semifinalists from an initial field of 132 candidates from across the state.

The panel will review the semifinalists’ portfolios again in late March and will select about 10 finalists from among the group.

The current Minnesota Teacher of the Year, Abdul Wright, will announce his successor at a banquet May 7 at the Radisson Blu Mall of America in Bloomington.