Disaster Declaration Made for Stevens and Seventeen Other Minnesota Counties 26 Jul 13

On Thursday (July 26), President Obama declared a major disaster for
the severe storms and flooding which impacted Minnesota between June
20-26. Eighteen Minnesota counties applied for disaster relief. Those
most affected were along the southern and western borders of the
state. Among the eligible counties: Big Stone, Douglas, Grant, Pope,
Stearns, Stevens, Swift, Traverse, and Wilkin Counties.

Two federal assistance programs have been made available for affected
governmental units, including counties, cities, and townships. Local
boards will be able to apply for the FEMA Public Assistance and Hazard
Mitigation Programs.  The programs reimburse governmental units for
75% of costs accrued during storm recovery.